Skip Navigation

Department of History

History News

1 entrie(s) between '5/1/2011 - 5/31/2011'
05.20.2011 @ 02:36 PM

The Department of History celebrated at its annual award ceremony on April 29, 2011 at the Wick Alumni Center. The department recognized the work of undergraduate and graduate students, as well as research awards for faculty. Many of these awards have been made possible by individuals who gave generous contributions to the University of Nebraska Foundation. Congratulations to award winners! The following students and faculty were recognized and honored for their outstanding achievements in the 2010-2011 academic year:


Undergraduate Honors--


The Glenn Gray Award to the outstanding undergraduate in History

Katlin Geyer


Award for High Distinction

Devon Allen


The History Harvest Fellowships

Jessica Hare

Kelsey Jistel

Jennifer Kroft

Matthew Koziol


Phi Alpha Theta History Honors Society new members

Daniel Griffith

Jessica Hare

Kelsey Jistel

Nicholas Pestello

Amanda Rosenthal

Sarah Williams


Phi Beta Kappa History Majors and Minors new members

Devon Allen

Michael Wayne Carl

Katlin M. Geyer

Brady James Jones

Katie Leanne Kidwell

Brian Michael Trump

Sarah Ann Brey

Katherine Rebecca Cunningham

Jamie Sue Myers


Graduate Honors--


The Dov Ospovat Award to the outstanding graduate essay in History

Brian Sarnacki


The Edward L. Homze Memorial Graduate Research Award

Lisa Mauer


The Albin and Pauline Anderson Award 

Nate Probasco


The John F. Stover Research Award

Robert Jordan


The Addison E. Sheldon Research Fellowship

Sean M. Kammer


The Viola Florence Barnes Research Fellowship

Robert Jordan


Marguerite C. and Clare McPhee Research Fellowship

Nathan Probasco


Faculty Awards--


The James A. Rawley Faculty Research Grant

Donna Akers


The Charles Henry Oldfather Faculty Research Grant

James Garza


The Clay Thomas Faculty Research Grant

Jeannette Jones

The Albin and Pauline Anderson Faculty Award

David Cahan

College of Arts and Sciences Faculty Awards--


Outstanding Research and Creative Activities Award

Amy Burnett


The Hazel R. McClymont Distinguished Teaching Award

Vanessa Gorman


Over the last three years our faculty have produced 24 books, over 75 scholarly articles in peer-reviewed journals, and won nearly $700,000 in research funding coming into Nebraska from national funding agencies. We have won some of the nation's most prestigious book awards (including the Bancroft Prize), honors (such as National Endowment for the Humanities and American Council of Learned Societies fellowships), and prizes (such as the Samuel Eliot Morison Prize).